Singapore: Toby’s Estate

3 Jul

I had the pleasure of spending a quiet arvo at Toby’s Estate, one of the newer darlings of the cafe-hopping crowd. I heard about this Aussie import when it first opened from one of my coffee connoisseur friends, but its inaccessibility by public transport (by the river at Robertson Quay, near Kith Cafe and Merry Men) meant that it eluded me till now. Established by Toby Smith in Sydney in 1998, it now has outlets in Sydney, Brisbane, Brooklyn New York and of course, Singapore.

More than just a cafe per se, Toby’s Estate also roasts their own beans and sell gourmet coffee and equipment sourced from all over the world. Only the best arabica coffees are selected, blended and served. They also have an Espresso School to impart skills and knowledge to consumers so as to “complement the efforts of harvesters when finishing the journey into the cup”. I.e. they take their coffee very seriously.

Aside from drinks they have some pastries and cakes available if you’re feeling peckish, and also breakfast/brunch (the basics) daily from an early bird friendly 730am till 3pm.

When I was there, I was in for a treat for one of my favourite Mediacorp actors, the hilarious Alaric Tay of the The Noose fame was there with his friends. I wasn’t stalking him but you can partially see him (blocked by the coffee plant sprouting up in the middle of the main communal table). Anyway, celebrity sighting aside, I’m quite a fan of the cafe’s high ceilings, riverside view, super chillax vibe (also perhaps because it was a weekday) and communal dining concept. And they have free WiFi too.

Ordered my usual, a piccolo latte ($4.50) which was very full bodied, but perhaps a little too acidic for my liking. I’m a social coffee drinker though, so this brightness might appeal to the more seasoned coffee drinkers. I read on another blog that their piccolo lattes are made using ristretto and not espresso, so I’m wondering if maybe that’s the reason why?

There was quite a bit of merchandise for sale if you want to replicate your experience at home.

The massive on site smokeless roaster – pity I didn’t have a chance to see it in action!

Would love to come back and hopefully try something else that is more towards my palette’s liking :)

Price: $
Location: 8 Rodyk Street, #01-03/04, S(238216)
Opening Hours: Daily 7.30am-6pm
Tel: +65 66367629
Website: http://www.tobysestate.com.sg/

Leave a Reply

