Singapore: Tom’s Palette

11 Jun

After a rich ramen dinner at Menya Musashi, I wanted something cooling and refreshing for dessert and I knew the perfect place for it – Tom’s Palette at Shaw Leisure Gallery (the Shaw near Raffles Hotel). It’s hands down, my favourite ice cream shop in Singapore. I’ve been frequenting Tom’s before they expanded and long before the homemade/artisan ice cream craze started. What’s not to like about this place? Prices are ridiculously cheap for the quality (from $3.20 for a small cup), you can get 2 flavours in one cup, they have so many interesting flavours that that they rotate and the owners/staff are always friendly and enthusiastic to offer you samples. When I used to work at Raffles City my colleagues and I would often buy tubs back for office parties and they were always gone before we knew it…ah, the good old days. <3

My favourite flavours featured here include the chocolate stout (you can really taste the stout here, not for kids!), apple pie (really tastes like the real thang with pie bits), salted egg yolk (so freaking good, better than the real thing!), lychee rose (when you want something floral and light). On previous trips, the rum and raisin, granny’s favourite (chocolate malt with cookie dough) and sea salt caramel were also very good but I’m more partial to fruity and exotic flavours like the longan and red dates, wasabi lime and salty yuzu. Sigh, if only I was still living in Singapore and waif thin I could seriously eat this everyday.

Price: $ (not even a full $ sign!)
Location: #01-25, Shaw Leisure Gallery, 100 Beach Road
Tel: +65 6296 5239
Opening Hours: Mon–Thu: 12pm – 9.30pm, Fri–Sat: 12pm – 10.00pm, Closed on Sun
Website: http://www.tomspalette.com.sg/

Leave a Reply

