Singapore: K ki ケーキ

8 May

I finally got my ass over to K ki ケーキ on my recent trip back. It’s one of those places that I’ve been meaning to visit since it first opened but I had let it drag out for maybe…2 years? I remember reading that the owner is a self taught baker and was pretty impressed by that.

Off to while away my Friday afternoon…

K ki is known for its airy mousse Japanese-style cakes. Almost all their cakes are mousse cakes, except their cheesecake. The pretty lady at the counter went through the whole list of cakes available with me, before I finally decided on the Emily (Champagne mousse with strawberry centre) ($8). This was very light and balanced in the tart and sweet flavours. I loved the consistency of the airy mousse, and it definitely had an alcoholic kick. Unfortunately I could only squeeze in one since I was really full from my lunch at Luke’s but in my normal state, I could have polished 2-3 cakes on my own as they were really that light.

To wash down my cake, I had a pot of Gryphon Tea’s Vanilla Sencha. I normally stay away from anything with vanilla if I can but this was a surprisingly lovely combination of green tea with a light vanilla aroma.

K ki shares its space with an outfit called the little drom store that sells assorted knick knacks and trinkets; including bags, clothes, books and accessories. Quite a lot of things are by local designers. I couldn’t resist picking up this cute asteroid shaped enamel necklace.

Though slightly pricey for its size, I can’t wait to come to try the rest of their popular cakes including the Antoinette (White chocolate mousse with mango centre), Little Red Riding Hood (Dark chocolate mousse with raspberry centre) and Mont Blanc (French chestnut paste with fresh cream centre). This is definitely not a place for those who like their desserts big and hearty, but more for those who crave for (literally) a little slice of Japan. Service was friendly (they even loaned me their iPhone charger) and they were forthcoming with refilling hot water for my tea and iced water. It is a small space though so I can’t imagine what it would be like on the weekend as it was almost full house when I was there.

Price: $-$$
Location: 7 Ann Siang Hill, Singapore 069791
Tel: +65 6225 6650
Website: http://www.kki-sweets.com/

2 Responses to “Singapore: K ki ケーキ”

  1. Jie hui May 18, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Wow the cakes look Delish and the plac even more so! Wish I had free weekday afternoons to while away like that!

    • chowandthecity May 21, 2012 at 3:48 am #

      it’s actually just a very small and basic-looking shop but the things for sale are quite quirky…and go on weekends when they first open maybe not so crowded! i want to go back and try more of their cakes and flor’s too!

Leave a Reply

