Singapore: The Marmalade Pantry (Pantry At The Stables)

28 Mar

I was always a fan of old The Marmalade Pantry at Palais Renaissance since the mid noughties, back when it less popular and at its more obscure basement location along Orchard Road. But somehow when they moved to their new digs at Ion, things didn’t feel quite the same with that in the open concept location and meh food quality (not desserts though). So when they recently rebranded and opened a new branch – Pantry At The Stables – at Fairways Drive taking over the old Mimolette (next to Riders Cafe), I was pleased that my (very late) weekend brunch experience was much better than the Ion branch (food and definitely ambiance wise).

Surrounded by lush greenery at its entrance

Minimalist indoor seating area

Cupcake table – don’t miss trying one! You’re in Marmalade Pantry after all.

Their signature flower :)

I order their steak sandwich with wasabi mayonnaise, caramelised onions and rocket every single time I eat at MP (yes I’m boring like that). The addition of the creamy wasabi mayo, spicy rocket and sweet onions here really seal the deal for me. Even the sweet potato chips and accompanying salad in citrus dressing are stars.

The seared scallop linguini with tiger prawn bisque was also surprisingly good despite its plain looks. Loved the rich and seafood-y prawn bisque sauce.


The crabmeat linguini with pine nuts, tomatoes and chili is one of their signature dishes and I always try to encourage my friends to order it so I can pinch off a bit ;) Tangy, slightly spicy and oh so moreish! I will be the wrath of my countrymen but give me this over messy and laborious chili crab any day.

The truffle fries on the other hand were nothing to shout about. I wished they were thinner and prefer the ones at Barracks/Skinny Pizza to the ones here.

We tried the Granny Smith and stem ginger pudding served with salted caramel ice-cream since we often order the ginger pudding in PS Cafe. This was pretty good too but much less sweet and gingery than PS Cafe’s, which is totally fine with me. I love the apple, ginger and caramel flavour combination.

But to me, the must order at Marmalade Pantry have always been and will always be the sticky date and toffee pudding with vanilla ice cream. And if you can, don’t share it because everytime I do, I always end up regretting but not feeling spoilt enough to order a second helping. Food fads come and go, but this pudding will always be my number one favourite dessert in Singapore. It’s my ultimate comfort food. I usually don’t like vanilla ice cream but this one doesn’t spare the vanilla pods and it really makes a difference in the flavour.

Marmalade Pantry also does decent but not overly pretty cupcakes, which were popular long before the cupcake fad in Singapore. My favourite is the Elvis (Chocolate banana cake with peanut butter frosting). I also like the Limonata, Hazel and Chocolate Deluxe. Some of the other flavours like Geisha and William sound good on paper but are just too sweet for my liking.

The scenic, un-Singapore landscape around Fairways Drive

Horses at the nearby Bukit Timah Saddle Club

While I wouldn’t say the food was really good, it’s definitely pretty decent with some sparks like the pudding. Its relaxed vibe, idyllic location and wide menu ranging from drinks, savouries to sweets more than makes up for it though :)

Price: $$
Location: 55 Fairways Drive Singapore 286846
Tel: +65 6467 9328
Website: http://www.themarmaladepantry.com.sg/

2 Responses to “Singapore: The Marmalade Pantry (Pantry At The Stables)”

  1. Kia Jie Hui April 1, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    You must’ve been VERY late for the place to be so empty on a weekend during “brunch” time!

    • chowandthecity April 2, 2012 at 1:38 am #

      haha, it was just taken when i left la.

Leave a Reply

