Shanghai: Yang’s Fry Dumpling 小杨生煎

3 Nov

The great thing about going to the Jia Jia Tang Bao outlet on Huanghe Lu is that you can roll opposite to Yang’s Fry Dumpling 小杨生煎 for some sheng jian bao 生煎包 after. I came with low expectations as I have never had sheng jian bao before, and in general I’m not a fan of fried dumplings like guo tie 锅贴.

How wrong I was! It was probably the best thing I ate on the trip. I totally underestimated the amount of soup there was inside as the moment I bit into the piping hot bao, a huge amount of soup splashed all over my shirt and sweater. Yup, I’m quite sure It was mocking me. And mind you, it was a waste of delicious soup. The skins were very crispy and the meat was flavourful too. I’m in love with the crispy on the outside + soupy on the inside combo, it’s insane. I might even say that it’s even better than the best of xiao long baos. They are definitely a must try in Shanghai.

Lady pan-frying these these little delicious babies.

Anyway, random thought but I don’t know why it’s known as the grammatically incorrect “Yang’s Fry Dumplings” online even though the signboard (at least the shop I was at) says “Yang’s Fried Dumplings”. Anyone knows?

Price: $ (4 for 5Y)
Location: 97 Huanghe Lu, near Fengyang Lu. Near People’s Square.

Leave a Reply

