London: The Breakfast Club

18 Jul

The Providores & Tapa Room had set a high benchmark for brunch on my trip. But The Breakfast Club, a more rustic and hearty breakfast/brunch place with a few branches in London turned out to be quite a winner too. As we went on a weekday, we didn’t have to queue (I read on many reviews that you often have to queue for at least an hour during weekends). I really like its cheery egg yolk-ish shopfront and the clever name (named after the 80’s movie but so apt).

I wished I had a picture of the place without my face (I know, it rhymes)…but I don’t. I just wanted to show you the eclectic and rustic interior.

We started with some freshly squeezed juices Virgin Apple Mojito Pressed Apple, Mint and Lime and Carrot And Orange – both were delicious! I never knew virgin mojitoes could taste so good.

This was my Eggs Royale with Smoked Salmon on Toasted English Muffin with Hollandaise. The eggs were perfectly poached and the sauce was dreamy and not too rich. I also liked the fresh garden salad served on the side with a very zesty vinaigrette.

This was The Full Monty (Bacon, Sausage, Black Pudding, Eggs, Hashbrowns, Mushrooms, Beans, Grilled Tomato and Toast). We requested to change the black pudding into mushrooms. The scrambled eggs, mushrooms, sausage and even the hashbrowns (more like roasted potatoes actually) were really good.

We had to order the Pancakes and Berries with Maple Syrup and Vanilla Cream, which is probably its most raved over dish. How gorgeous does it look? The pancakes were really thick and fluffy, and they were very generous with the berries and maple syrup as you can see. But the real winner, was actually the vanilla cream. I’m not sure exactly what kind of cream it was, but it had a texture in between ice cream and chantilly cream and the vanilla flavour was very intense (if I’m not wrong, I spotted vanilla pod seeds in it). It was sooo good. I swear, it was the best pancakes I’ve ever had!

 I can’t wait to be back again for the amazing pancakes. Sigh, London…why do you have to be such an expensive plane ticket away, with insane hotel prices to boot?

Price: $$
Location: 33 D’Arblay Street, London, W1F 8EU (Check website for other locations)
Website: http://www.thebreakfastclubcafes.com
Note: Brunch is available from 9am-5pm till items run out (yay!)

Leave a Reply

