Hong Kong: Yung Kee 鏞記

9 Jun

I have eaten at Yung Kee several times since 2007 and again I could not resist its popular roast goose this trip. And it seems like neither can Singaporeans, as almost every time I’m here, either my friends or I will bump into a fellow Singaporean friend dining there.

Anyway, I always start with their signature Century Egg with Pickled Ginger – they are fresh and the yolks are still “wet”. I used to think these were awesome until I lived in China and realised you can get century eggs this quality everywhere, for  fraction of the price too.

This is the only thing you really need to order here, and to me a must eat in Hong Kong – the Roast Goose. If goose tastes this good, I don’t know why we bother with just eating duck. The meat is succulent and not fatty at all; and the skin still lightly crisp though drizzled in sauce. It goes so well with the plum sauce too. *Licks lips*. Staring at this picture is enough to make me hungry already!

The rest of the dishes were average and nothing to shout about compared to the goose (should have just ordered triple portions, haha). This was Stir Fried Baby Bok Choy with Mushrooms and Yunnan Ham.

We thought the Homemade Beancurd sounded promising, but it was utterly bland, and looked very unappetising as well. Disappointing dish for a 1* restaurant! The Stir Fried Sliced Beef with Kai Lan fared much better, the beef was very tender and had a nice sauce.

It occurred to me that I always eat the same thing when I’m here, especially since I always come in pairs or small groups only. I really ought to be more adventurous, but seriously everything else other than the goose doesn’t impress. This was one of the more memorable things I ate on a previous trip – the Roast Pigeon (pardon the out of focus photo) – which I remember as being quite delicious with the lovely skin and flavourful meat without being too gamey.

My Hong Kong relatives say that Yung Kee is overpriced and there are many better roast goose out there, but till I get a local tour from them this tourist fave will continue to feature on my itinerary, if only for the goost, goose and more goose.

Price: $$-$$$
Location: 32 Wellington Street, Central
Tel: +852 2522 1624. Reservations recommended especially during peak hours/weekends.

One Response to “Hong Kong: Yung Kee 鏞記”

  1. italian restaurants in hong kong August 1, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    i want to share our views with you!!! . i like your blog so much and reviews of the images and blog is very appreciating

Leave a Reply

