Singapore: ReStore

28 Jun

Before Carpenter & Cook, there was ReStore along Tanjong Pagar Road, a vintage furniture shop cum cafe that sells coffee, waffles and bagels. Though it’s been around for a while, I only got down to checking it out recently after lunching at Maxwell Road Food Centre.

I just adore their series of colourful chairs reupholstered with vintage fabric. The pieces here are all one-of-a-kind vintage furniture which would make great talking points in any home. *hints to hubs*

I love chilling at cafes even by myself, and to gaze at ohsopretty vintage furniture while doing so makes it even better.

How lovely is the old school green stool? Wished I could have carried it back!

On to the nosh…It was burning outside and I really needed something cold. Thankfully they have iced piccolo latte ($4.80) on the menu (many cafes only serve this hot) and this was really good – aromatic and well balanced. I was quite surprised since it’s after all still a furniture store but the coffee here surpassed quite a few other popular cafes IMO. Loved the buttery earl grey cookie it came with too (they’re also for sale).

A friend joined me and got the iced tea ($4.50) which had a nice peach flavour.

Heard a lot about their homemade waffles so of course I had to try them. This was the going bananas waffle ($9.30) that had sliced bananas, maple syrup, icing sugar and we added a scoop of chocolate ice cream (+$2). It was actually quite a small portion for the price (I expected a whole round waffle) and wasn’t particularly crispy or fluffy, but it’s not bad. I must say I much prefer the ones at Wimbly Lu.

They also do freshly baked bagels with flavoured cream cheeses which I really wanted to get but I was so stuffed by then. If you’re into furniture or vintage, or are looking for a quiet coffee spot in the CBD area definitely check ReStore out. I will probably come back during breakfast/brunch time for a bagel and delish coffee!

Price: $
Location: 124 Tanjong Pagar Road, S (088533). Near Tanjong Pagar MRT.
Tel: +65 6222 3510 
Opening Hours: Tue to Fri: 11am-7pm, Sat & Sun: 11am to 6pm, closed on Mon.
Website: http://restoreliving.blogspot.com/

One Response to “Singapore: ReStore”

  1. Sunnyace June 28, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    Reblogged this on Sunnyace Collections.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

